Tolerance for others

It is quite challenging when all of your friends and family are Christians and I seem to be the only Muslim. A lot of their practices and beliefs are different from mine. But I have been taught not to sever ties with family and friends and to tolerate others as long as I am not compromising my own beliefs, and values.

My biggest test was when my mom asked that I join them to church last Sunday. I had to go since I didn’t want her to be sad or upset. I did not make the sign of the cross nor take communion. I directed all my prayers to God, and whenever I heard something that do not agree with what we Muslims believe in, I say La Ilaha Illallah.

The mass ended and I didn’t have a heavy heart. In fact, I felt good because I still was able to worship Allah, and I did it with my family. Allah made it so easy for me. Alhamdullilah.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tolerance for others

  1. Muslim says:

    Assalamu Alaikom Sister Maryam,
    You did a Great Job, May Allah reward you double reward for this.(worship+suffering)
    We (in muslim countries) perform our worship -almost-easily,but you -surrounded by christians- ,you suffer from how do others treat you because of Hijab.
    You may feel lonely sometimes.But remember,you are now a sister for 2 Billion muslims in the world.And more importantly ,to be guided By Allah SWT is the best reward in one’s life.

    remember how Prophet Mohammad PBUH -the role model- suffered at the beginning of Dawah.

    I remind you with these verses from Chapter 3 of Quraan(Aal-Imraan):

    يَسْتَبْشِرُونَ بِنِعْمَةٍ مِّنَ اللَّهِ وَفَضْلٍ وَأَنَّ اللَّهَ لاَ يُضِيعُ أَجْرَ الْمُؤْمِنِينَ

    الَّذِينَ اسْتَجَابُواْ لِلَّهِ وَالرَّسُولِ مِن بَعْدِ مَا أَصَابَهُمُ الْقَرْحُ لِلَّذِينَ أَحْسَنُواْ مِنْهُمْ وَاتَّقَوْا أَجْرٌ عَظِيمٌ

    الَّذِينَ قَالَ لَهُمُ النَّاسُ إِنَّ النَّاسَ قَدْ جَمَعُواْ لَكُمْ فَاخْشَوْهُمْ فَزَادَهُمْ إِيمَانًا وَقَالُواْ حَسْبُنَا اللَّهُ وَنِعْمَ الْوَكِيلُ

    فَانقَلَبُواْ بِنِعْمَةٍ مِّنَ اللَّهِ وَفَضْلٍ لَّمْ يَمْسَسْهُمْ سُوءٌ وَاتَّبَعُواْ رِضْوَانَ اللَّهِ وَاللَّهُ ذُو فَضْلٍ عَظِيمٍ

    “They receive good tidings of favor from Allah and bounty and [of the fact] that Allah does not allow the reward of believers to be lost (171)Those [believers] who responded to Allah and the Messenger after injury had struck them. For those who did good among them and feared Allah is a great reward (172)Those to whom hypocrites said, “Indeed, the people have gathered against you, so fear them.” But it [merely] increased them in faith, and they said, “Sufficient for us is Allah, and [He is] the best Disposer of affairs.(173)So they returned with favor from Allah and bounty, no harm having touched them. And they pursued the pleasure of Allah, and Allah is the possessor of great bounty.(174)”

    Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) said:
    وعن أبي سعيد وأبي هريرة رضي الله عنهما عن النبي صلى الله عليه و سلم قال : [ ما يصيب المسلم من نصب ولا وصب ولا هم ولا حزن ولا أذى ولا غم حتى الشوكة يشاكها إلا كفر الله بها من خطاياه ] متفق عليه

    Abu Sa`id and Abu Hurairah (May Allah be pleased with him) reported that the Prophet (PBUH)said: “Never a believer is stricken with a discomfort, an illness, an anxiety, a grief or mental worry or even the pricking of a thorn but Allah will expiate his sins on account of his/her patience”.
    [Al-Bukhari and Muslim]

    Keep treating your parents very well,it is of a great reward. Assalamu Alaikom

Leave a Reply

