Layla and Majnun

I have been obsessing about the tragic love story of Layla and Majnun. I have heard about them 3 times in different Islamic lectures about love. They said that the love of Majnun for Layla, and Layla for Majnun is real undying love.

Majnun and Layla loved each other. They asked to be married but their families refused.

After Majnun found out that Layla has gotten married to another man, he remained in love… madly in love with her.

“I pass by these walls, the walls of Layla
And I kiss this wall and that wall
It’s not Love of the houses that has taken my heart
But of the One who dwells in those houses”

Before Layla died, she saw Majnun who then no longer recognizes her because of his madness.

“I’m happy as long as my beloved one torments me,
If only people wouldn’t call me unfaithful.
I’ve become an idler in this world of separation from you,
Only the hope of joining with you keeps me alive.
Don’t leave me powerless in this bed of sadness,
Hey moon, heal me with the wine of joining.

Layla died heartbroken in the arms of her husband.

Majnun falls on Layla’s grave and died.

This entry was posted in Religion and Society and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

