Preparing for my first Eid al-Adha

Eid al-Adha falls on the 15th of October this year. This will be the first Islamic festival that I will be attending… ever!

Community Prayer outside The Blue Mosque Taguig taken by REUTERS/Erik De Castro

I have recently learned that the festival commemorates and honors the willingness of the prophet Ibrahim (pbuh) to sacrifice his beloved son Ishmael to God, and his son`s acceptance of the sacrifice.

“O my Lord! Grant me a righteous (son Ishmael)!” So We gave him the good news of a boy, possessing forbearance. And when (his son) was old enough to walk and work with him, (Abraham) said: O my dear son, I see in vision that I offer you in sacrifice: Now see what is your view!” (The son) said: “O my father! Do what you are commanded; if Allah wills, you will find me one practicing patience and steadfastness!” So when they both submitted and he threw him down upon his forehead, We called out to him saying: O Ibraheem! You have indeed fulfilled the vision; surely thus do We reward those who do good. Most surely this was a manifest trial. And We ransomed him with a momentous sacrifice. And We perpetuated (praise) to him among the later generations. “Peace and salutation to Abraham!” Thus indeed do We reward those who do right. Surely he was one of Our believing servants. And We gave him the good news of Is-haaq (Isaac), a prophet from among the righteous. (Quran 37.100–112)

I have called my surrogate Islam mother, Mama Monera. She explained that on Eid, the community prayer at the Blue Mosque (Taguig) will be offered after the sun completely rises up, which is at 7am. She explained that on Eid, we Muslims have to make wudu, make salat (prayer) for Fajr, then go to the Masjid for the Eid prayer with the community. There will be 2 rakats (prayer units) for salaat and then a khutbah (lecture) by the Imam. After the salaat and the khutbah, Muslims embrace and greet one another with Eid Mubarak, and then give gifts to children.

She said I can videotape the events with the muslim sisters. I was extremely moved when she said that since she is my Islamic mother, I will join her family during the festivities. I will be meeting her at 5am at the mosque and help with the preparations. InshaAllah.

I have read that I should wear my finest clothes that day. Alhamdulillah, I have a long dress and a cardigan (that I have just bought last month) to wear. I had my dress rehearsal just a while ago. So excited.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

