Telling my parents

I am facing some difficulties with my parents. Oh how much I want so bad to tell them how happy I am as a Muslimah.

When I was about to do my intro with mom, she already reacted negatively. It is unfortunate that a lifetime of ‘lack of information’, mis-information, and mis-representation by some elements in the Muslim community, have created a deep mistrust and lack of understanding in the Philippines and throughout the world.

I have sent my mom a text message. I apologized for getting her upset. I told her that I know she wanted me to be happy and safe, and I have been more at peace with God and myself. I told her too that I love her. But I just could not find the strength to tell her I am Muslim. I am scared that they would disown me.

But how can I tell them without hurting their feelings? How can I make them understand, accept and support me in my new found faith?

I sought advice from a friend who lead me to these verses in the Quran for advice: (Quran 31:15 to 16)

“And We have enjoined upon man [care] for his parents. His mother carried him, [increasing her] in weakness upon weakness, and his weaning is in two years. Be grateful to Me and to your parents; to Me is the [final] destination. But if they endeavor to make you associate with Me that of which you have no knowledge, do not obey them but accompany them in [this] world with appropriate kindness and follow the way of those who turn back to Me [in repentance]. Then to Me will be your return, and I will inform you about what you used to do.”

I was also given this video of a Filipino Muslim crying for a non Muslim mother.

I guess there really is no simple answer. But I know that it is forbidden to argue with my mother. I have to continue to show her love, respect, and kindness. I am their only source of reference when it comes to Islam, so with my actions I have a chance to sew the seeds.I pray that if she and my father sees how close to God I have become with my actions, they will come to terms with my decision. May Allah grant me strength and more patience with them. And may they see the beauty of Islam one day. Ameen.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Telling my parents

  1. afternoonlattes says:

    If you ever feel like you need someone to talk to or a friend I’m here for you<3 I love your blog hun!
    http://afternoonlattes.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: My parents already know | My Journey to Islam

Leave a Reply

