The Marriage Barrage

I have turned 32. I did not mind being single for a time, until I have professed my faith as a Muslim.

In Islam, marriage is not just a union of a man and a woman for the purpose of procreation. In Islam, marriage is obligatory. It keeps a person healthy and keeps a person from falling into sin.

The Prophet (PBUH) said the following about marriage:

“No house has been built in Islam more beloved in the sight of Allah than through marriage.”

“The best people of my nation (Ummat) are those who get married and have chosen their wives, and the worst people of my nation are those who have kept away from marriage and are passing their lives as bachelors.”

“Whosoever likes to follow my tradition, then he should know that marriage is from my tradition.”

To prepare myself from marriage, I have been listening to a series of lectures about Marriage in Islam by Maulana Abdul Mannan. I hope my parents and future husband, whoever he may be, get to watch this too.

Introduction

Islam View on Marriage

Choosing a Spouse

Qualities to Search for in a Spouse

Making Istikhara Before Choosing A Spouse

Proposal and Pre Nuptial Agreement

Dowry

The Marriage Sermon

The Walimah (Marriage Reception)

This entry was posted in Life in Islam, Religion and Society and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

