Eating halal

When I became a Muslimah, I had to make a lot of changes. One of the biggest changes and challenges would be eating halal.

In my city, all grocery stores and supermarkets do not sell fresh halal meat. There is a halal meat store near the mosque but I rarely go there as it is quite far and dangerous. There is only one restaurant I know that serves halal food but food is so expensive. For now, I do not have any other choice but to reduce my diet to seafood, vegetables, and halal sealed canned/packed food.

Some days, I badly crave for meat. It is a good thing, I have been adopted by a Libyan Muslim family and almost every other day I have heavy dinner there. They know my situation so whenever I am home for dinner, they stuff me with food… especially meat. I am very grateful. May Allah be pleased with them and bless them.

Sometimes, I find it unavoidable to eat out. In these cases, I would order for seafood. If there is no seafood, I eat a little of a chicken or beef dish, and ask Allah for His understanding and forgiveness.

InshaAllah, I will be able to find better ways to be able to get some fresh halal meat in my fridge.

If you have some suggestions for me, please comment below.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

