While everybody is preparing for Christmas…

I reflect about how I celebrated the last Eid.

I just watched this Khutbah about Living as a Muslim in a Christmas world. And has really given me something to think about.


I am all right with missing Christmas festivities. I understand that the practices and beliefs associated to Christmas do not coincide with my beliefs as a Muslimah. But I will constantly be reminded of how I had missed my chance to celebrate by hosting a huge dinner party, calling all my family overseas, sending greeting cards to friends and loved ones, and distributing presents, etc.

I know that I should not greet them merry Christmas, give them gifts, join them at church, etc. I still have to check if I am allowed to join the dinners with the family.

Now the question is, what should I do when I am already surrounded with family celebrating Christmas?

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

