Trying too much too fast

I am struggling with prayer.

I need to keep myself from missing or delaying my salat. I know that I should not miss prayer and should be doing them on time, like how I would not miss and be late in taking antibiotics medication.

Now, I keep four out of five salats a day. I usually miss Asr or Magrib. I am still trying to find my way back and with more realistic expectations. Realistic that when I pray, it would really keep me on the straight path and I would mean it. I still am stubborn on one area of my life. InshaAllah I will be able to sort that out soon.

I have done so many changes. I think I just tried for too much too fast.

The Prophet Muhammad saw said to enter the religion gently because there is so much to be learned it can overwhelm you.

I shared a revert friend about my struggles and this is the reply I got…

I used get embarrassed to be seen praying now I’m so grateful to Allah for giving me salat I am not embarrassed anymore. I don’t find praying to be a nuisance, something I have to do, an imposition on my time, now I embrace it its like a time out from the world. Remember when you were a child and you were upset, maybe you were in trouble or some close friends hurt your feelings; you would find solace and comfort in your room, somewhere you could be alone for a while where no one can hurt you; well prayer is my room now and I’m no longer alone. Sometimes I feel so happy to pray that I can cry during salat I feel so blessed . Everyone is going about their business around me but I have stopped to remember my Lord. Subhanallah! Capture that feeling Joanna don’t worry about what’s happening around you lay your face on the ground and let your tears flow.

 

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying too much too fast

  1. Pingback: Lessons learned | My Journey to Islam

Leave a Reply

