Boycotting the holidays no more

I was prepared to boycott the holiday celebrations, until the last family party held here at home. Almost everybody from my mom*s side came: grandparents, uncles and aunts, cousins, nephews and nieces, sisters and brother, friends, etc. After everyone left, I couldn*t help but think what big blessing it is to be part of such gatherings. I asked myself why should I deprive myself of this.

I cannot not boycott the holidays.

How can I when my whole family still observes it. That would be very unIslamic, and this act may bring myself and Islam in bad light.

The Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him) commanded us: to strengthen relationships, provided that whatever they ask us to do does not contradict and compromise our core beliefs and values.

The Prophet Mohammed (peace be upon him) himself attended several functions from different tribes, even those of polytheistic faith. He did it to build bridges and to help other people understand him and Islam.

I now take the holiday celebration as an opportunity to build and strengthen relationships; to share my time, energy, and learnings about in life and Allah*s messages sent through His prophets.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

