Reading and Understanding the Quran

Masha Allah!

I can already read and recite verses in the Quran in Arabic. I just need now to understand the vocabulary. It is a good thing that there is UnderstandQuran.com to help me learn Quranic vocabulary (after learning basic Arabic.) I hope to learn 50% of the words by the end of this month. Insha Allah.

Image24149 Image24150 Image24151

Now that I am able to read Arabic characters, my Muslim brother Saleh and sister Salma got me copies of the Quran in English and in Quran. They found copies at the Islamic center near their embassy in Makati. (Copies of the Quran cannot be found in local bookstores, which only sells copies of the Bible.) With these copies I can now read a surah in the Quran in Arabic and then read the translation and interpretation in English.

Image24148

I am surprised that the texts in the Quran is very much like the bible, but far more detailed. It emphasizes what we say in our shahada: that there is only no god but Allah and that all the prophets are His messengers.

This entry was posted in Learning Arabic, Life in Islam and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reading and Understanding the Quran

  1. Aziza says:

    Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu,
    Congrats to you sister for learning how to read and write Arabic! I too am learning the same thing and I also use the translation to help me along, but I hope to be able to understand completely in Arabic someday. So nice someone taking the same journey I am…and as you wonderfully put it, it is very rewarding. May Allah keep you steadfast my sister and grant you success here and hereafter. (:

  2. Amira says:

    assalamu alaikum sis,

    Thank you for the link. How is the 50% vocabulary course? I was thinking of doing it too.
    Your blogs are beautiful mashallah.

    • Maryam says:

      Assalamu alaikum, my sister. I apologize for not responding soon. Yes, their program is very helpful. My Arab friends are surprised to see that I can already write and read aloud Arabic. I have learned the vocabulary very easily. Watching the videos and working with the worksheets provided have helped, but it would benefit you more if you take down notes and drill yourself with the vocabulary. I use Quizlet.com for drills sometimes or write the words of the day/week on my big mirror with a whiteboard marker. It also helps reading the Quran, listening to Quran recitations, or reciting the Quran yourself. Assalamu alaikum.

Leave a Reply

