New Revert Finally Wearing the Hijab

I have finally found the courage to wear the hijab in my neighborhood and at work. I started it on World Hijab Day. Masha Allah!

I found wearing regular scarves (pashmina, etc.) very time consuming and confusing. Thank God I managed to find a much easier alternative: loop scarves. I got my first loop scarf as a present from my brother and sister in law. I bought 2 more loop scarves from ROX at Bonifacio High Street for P690.00.

Image24147

I started by posting pictures of myself wearing hijab on my online profiles. People who knew I am Muslim liked my photos.

ProfilePic

My face is round, so I usually have the asymmetrical thing going on with my hijab to make my face look smaller. 😀

Many were surprised when the saw me in person with my headscarf. Some gave me THE FACE. 😀 Many asked me why I wear it even in this really hot climate. I was ready to answer them all. Masha Allah. Prayers prepared me; some Youtube videos also helped: by Amenakin…

… and by Aminah Assilmi.

Even I was surprised how nice it looks on me. It makes me look more prim and proper. 🙂

O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies. That will be better, that they should be known (as free respectable women) so as not to be annoyed. And Allah is Ever Oft Forgiving, Most Merciful.

(Quran: Surah Al Ahzab 33:59)

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

