Mourning the death of a non Muslim friend

One of the hardest things to accept as a new Muslim is the fact that I could not pray for the soul or attend a funeral service of any of my non Muslim friends and relatives. This realization came after a very dear friend, Lolo Logio (Grandpa Logio), who died about a month ago.

When I first heard about his passing, the first things I did were to recall my last moments with him, to contact next of kin, and visit the wake. Before going to the wake, I consulted a couple of Muslim friends, who were born Muslims, who said outright that I cannot go nor even offer prayers from my home.

That I thought was the most heart breaking… the harshest thing I have ever heard.  And for the first time ever, I doubted myself and my faith. Astagfirullah. Then I was shaken back to reality…

Who am I to question Allah?

I was comforted by another friend who explained to me what I can and cannot do. This video by Muhammad Salah sums everything up…

 Allah knows best.

 

This entry was posted in Life in Islam, Muslim in Manila. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mourning the death of a non Muslim friend

  1. Pingback: I believe in Allah’s Mercy | My Journey to Islam

Leave a Reply

