I believe in Allah’s Mercy

After mourning the death of a non Muslim, I could not help but be bothered about not being able to pray to Allah for my non Muslim family and friends, as, according to my born Muslim friends and some Imams and scholars, they may not be granted Jannah.

I refuse to believe this.

One thing that I have learned in my interaction with other brothers and sisters in Islam is not to take everything they say should be taken as fact. Even information I get from an Imam or a scholar, I have to check their credentials and their sources. I have to remember that what they tell us is just their understanding or what they have been taught.

Allah (swt) is most merciful, and mercy comes before all else. So if someone tells me something that sounds harsh or violent, I feel I should think twice.

For example there is general consensus among Muslims that only Muslims can go to paradise; that Christians, Jews, Buddhists, Hindus, Atheists, billions and billions of people are condemned to hell. Christians also believe unless you accept Jesus (pbuh) as Lord you will suffer.

Is that mercy?

It is my understanding that people who are not born into Islam are not sinners; they are just ignorant of the truth. If they are true to their particular faith and are good decent humans, I believe Allah (swt) will reward them.

Allah is Most Merciful, that is what it says over and over again at the beginning of almost every surah.

By the same token, just because we are Muslims and we pray 5 times per day, does not mean we are automatically saved.

Oh Allah, If I am wrong, please forgive me and lead me to Your truth.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I believe in Allah’s Mercy

  1. Sadak says:

    Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Tha’alaa Barakaatuhu,

    To those whom the message of islam had not reached or reached in a distorted form, they are entitled to paradise unless they commit any major sin. This is according to Ash’ari and Maturidi Aqeedah. I don’t know much about them. You could learn from books on the subject. Salaam.

Leave a Reply

