How to pray Istikhara

If you need to seek guidance from Allah on a decision, it is a good idea to pray Istikhara.

Jaabir ibn ‘Abd-Allaah al-Salami (may Allah be pleased with him) said that the The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ‘If any one of you is concerned about a decision he has to make, then let him pray two rak’ahs of non-obligatory prayer, then say:

Allaahumma inni astakheeruka bi ‘ilmika
(O Allah, I seek Your Guidance by virtue of Your Knowledge)

Wa astaqdiruka bi qudratika
(And I seek ability by virtue of Your Power)

Wa as’aluka min fadlika al‘azin
(And I ask You for Your Great Bounty)

Fa innaka taqdiru wa laa aqdir
(For You have power and I do not)

Wa ta’lamu wa laa a’lam, wa anta ‘allaam al-ghuyoob
(And You know and I know not, You know all of the hidden matters)

Allaahumma fa in kunta ta’lamu haadha’l-amra
(Oh Allah! If you know that this matter … <mention the matter> )

Khairun fi deeni wa ma’aashi wa ‘aaqibati amri
(Is good for me in my religion, my livelihood, and for my life in the hereafter)

Faqdurhu li wa yassirhu li thumma baarik li fihi
(Make it destined for me and make it (easy) for me, then bless it for me)

Allaahumma wa in kunta ta’lamu annahu sharrun li
(And if you know that this matter is not good for me)

Fi deeni wa ma’aashi wa ‘aaqibati amri
(In my religion, my livelihood and my life in the hereafter)

Fasrifhu anni was‘rifni anhu
(Then keep it away from me and take me away from it)

Waqdur li al-khayr haythu kaana thumma radini bihi
(And choose what is good for me wherever it is and please me with it)

 اللَّهُمَّ إِنِّي أَسْتَخِيرُكَ بِعِلْمِكَ وَأَسْتَقْدِرُكَ بِقُدْرَتِكَ وَأَسْأَلُكَ مِنْ فَضْلِكَ الْعَظِيمِ فَإِنَّكَ تَقْدِرُ وَلَا أَقْدِرُ وَتَعْلَمُ وَلَا أَعْلَمُ وَأَنْتَ عَلَّامُ الْغُيُوبِ اللَّهُمَّ إِنْ كُنْتَ تَعْلَمُ أَنَّ هَذَا الْأَمْرَ خَيْرٌ لِي فِي دِينِي وَمَعَاشِي وَعَاقِبَةِ أَمْرِي فَاقْدُرْهُ لِي وَيَسِّرْهُ لِي ثُمَّ بَارِكْ لِي فِيهِ وَإِنْ كُنْتَ تَعْلَمُ أَنَّ هَذَا الْأَمْرَ شَرٌّ فِي دِينِي وَمَعَاشِي وَعَاقِبَةِ أَمْرِي فَاصْرِفْهُ عَنِّي وَاصْرِفْنِي عَنْهُ وَاقْدُرْ لِيَ الْخَيْرَ حَيْثُ كَانَ ثُمَّ ارْضِنِي بِهِ

This entry was posted in How to's and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to pray Istikhara

  1. Muslim says:

    Assalamu Alaikom My muslim sister.
    I am proud of you.Mashallah, very nice blog and great efforts.
    May Allah SWT accept our good deeds and grant us paradise.
    I am your muslim brother from Palestine
    I would be grateful if we can cooperate to enhance our blogs content and translate valuable islamic books to make them available for non-arabs,and non-muslims.

    wa Salam Alaikom.

    • Maryam says:

      Assalamu Alaikum, brother. Alhamdulillah. I appreciate your kind words and encouragement. JazakAllah. It would be an honor to work with you in enhancing our blogs content and producing valuable information for our non Muslim brothers and sisters in humanity. I am not sure if I will be able to help you with translating Islamic books as I am only a beginner in Arabic. But I am sure that I can still do some things that could help. Let me know. Shukran. Wa Alaikum Assalam.

      • Muslim says:

        Assalamu Alaikom my Sister & Magandang Umaga
        Actually, I already translated an islamic arabic book into english and reviewd it,But since I am afraid of some errors in such a nice book and to be precise to the highest degree,I would be gratedful if you read it once ,and detect any weak statement or error.
        without you knowing arabic,you can detect such statements and errors.
        Also, The mark you grant me in translation may encourage me to translate more great books like this one for the Sheikh Mohammad Metwally Al Sharawy, and other books. OR if it is a low mark it may stop me doing this great job.
        The book is only about 70 pages .
        If you are interested to help ,please send me your email so that i can send the translated book for you.
        JazakiAllahu Khairan and maraming Salamat.

Leave a Reply

