Writing a non Muslim friendly version of My Journey to Islam

A non Muslim student asked me about my journey to Islam. I wanted to just conveniently direct him to my narrative My Journey to Islam, like I did with the others. However, I realized that I should make a much shorter simpler narrative instead ~ making it non Muslim friendly.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam, Muslim in Manila and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing a non Muslim friendly version of My Journey to Islam

  1. Jibran says:

    How do find Muslim connections as a revert? Its difficult to be a revert especially when all alone. Sometimes I feel that I am lost. Do you know any reverts group?

    Assalamu Alaikum

    • Maryam says:

      Wa alaikum assalam. Alhamdulillah, you too are a new revert. I know what you mean. It can get really lonely at times, but keep fighting back sadness by always remembering Allah and being grateful for even the smallest of things. I strongly suggest you read `Do Not Be Sad` by Al Qarni at https://ia601008.us.archive.org/24/items/DontBeSad_201312/Dont%20Be%20Sad.pdf . A very good friend introduced me to the book and I always go back to it and read it whenever I find myself in very difficult situations. Remember that Allah made Islam easy for all of us. This is a good question. You may want to look for your nearest mosque or musalla and meet the people there in Jumaah. You may also join organizations like New Muslim Care (which I believe is available in many countries like in the Philippines). You may also try attending Islamic conferences/seminars/classes in your city and make friends with the people you will be sitting next to. Do not be afraid of also making connections online. Oh and when you recognize another Muslim in your area, do not be afraid to say hi and introduce yourself. BTW, where are you located?

      • Jibran says:

        Salam!

        Thank you for the reply. The link that you shared is very helpful for new Muslim reverts. I will send email for some questions.

        Regards

  2. Jibran says:

    Salaam

    Hi I sent an email message. Hope you received it.

  3. Hussein says:

    Hi Maryam,

    Assalamu Alaykum! I am also a new convert. I am looking for resources online for and I feel that I am lost. Is there a guide I can follow as a start? I am of zero knowledge but know that Allah is God and the only God. Would you be able to help me?

    Regards,

    Hussein

    • Maryam says:

      Wa alaikum assalam.

      Bismillah al-rahman al-rahim. Alhamdulillah.

      Remember that Allah wanted Islam to be easy for you, brother. When I was new to Islam, I did not follow any guide. However, these are the things I initially did. See what suits you best.

      (1) Relaxing into salaat. The Youtube videos were easy to follow during salaat. After several days, I have memorized the words too.

      (2) Getting familiar and close to the Qur’an. Assad`s translation of the Qur’an is the best one for me http://bit.ly/1IMSqzQ. You might also like Muhammad Assad`s interviews on Youtube.

      (3) Saying Alhamdulillah for everything and being not sad. There is so much to be greatful to Allah for. I learned to do dhikr and could not stop performing it and feeling blessed. Here is how I do dhikr: http://bit.ly/1zACoXw. I read parts of this Islamic book when I need a boost: http://bit.ly/1FPetF2.

      (4) Listening to kutbahs and lectures by Tariq Ramadan, Nouman Ali Khan, Yasmin Mogahed, Hamza Yusuf, Mufti Menk, Omar Suleiman, and others on Youtube. I replaced music with these.

      (5) Spending time with fellow Muslims to discuss the Deen with like minded people. I know that this could also be a confusing time as our heart is bursting with pride and happiness that we have found Islam; like a knew love, we want to tell everyone how you feel.

      (6) Finding a masjid for Jumaah prayers. Here in the Philippines I go to the Indonesian embassy in Makati. It is the only one I know with English kutbah.

      (7) Attending Islamic events… really Eeman boosting! I have met and made so many sisters in such Islamic gatherings. There is an upcoming event called “Stories of Young Believers” organized by the New Muslim Care Philippines on May 17 2015 from 1-8pm. The lecturers are MUFTI MENK and SHAYKH SHAKIB (details are here: http://on.fb.me/1Jqj6Es).

      May Allah bless you and your family, give you strength and make the transitions in your life smooth. May you find security and comfort in the words of the Qur’an and the words and actions of the beloved messengers of God. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

