What did I do when my taxi driver played Christian Worship Music for me?

I just let it be, practicing patience and tolerance. I thought that even in this weird situation, I can still come out learning and realizing something.

October 27. As soon as I got in the taxi to go home, the driver played music of worship to Jesus, acknowledging him as the creator and savior. Audubillah.

The driver played it really loud and it went on and on the whole duration of the trip. Other Muslims in the same situation might have already asked the driver to turn it down or off, but I just let it be, practicing patience and tolerance. I thought that even in this weird situation, I can still come out learning and realizing something. MashaAllah.

As it played, I remembered my life as a Catholic lay woman. In a church choir I used to lead the congregation to sing the same hymns of praise to the `Trinity`. I also used to read passages on the Bible in front of many as a lector and guided them through the celebration in Catholic masses. Astagfirullah.

In the taxi, I thought, `Who would have thought that the same person who used to be a strong believer of one God in 3 persons becomes a practicing Muslim.` I guess it is true that those who are high in spirituality in other religions, those seekers of knowledge, tend to be the first ones to submit to Allah and accept Islam as the one true religion. Allahu Akbar.

On the road, I was continually reminded of how my reversion to Islam did not only disturb my family and friends but also the rest of that Catholic congregation that I have left behind. To them, I was a big disgrace. For me, I was saved by Allah. Allah took me out of that time of that Jahilliyah. I was chosen and directed to Islam: to bear witness that there is not other god worthy of worship but Allah, and to testify that Muhammad, Jesus, Moses, Abraham, (saws) are messengers of Allah. Alhamdulillah.

I went down that taxi saying Alhamdulillah, Alhamdulillah, Alhamdulillah. I was just that grateful.

This entry was posted in Life in Islam, Muslim in Manila, Religion and Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

