Called to prayer

For several months, I was consumed by making so much money. There are just so many bills to pay and needs that have to be fulfilled. I juggled three jobs, slept only up to 3 hours a day, and barely ate. What`s worse is I allowed myself to sacrifice salaat and the time I used to devote for reading Quran and studying Islam and Arabic just to keep up with deadlines and ensure quality.

Without salaat, I unconsciously backslid to my old `secular life`. I used to have this appetite for Islam, for food, for learning. I was very passionate about helping others and teaching. I have lost all that and the capacity to take care of myself and to love.

I was not content with what Allah has given me and tried to carry all the weight of the globe on my shoulders. I did not trust and wait patiently for His help.

I recently turned… uhh… a year older. That day, I had a chance to look closely at myself in the mirror. I looked really good but I felt lifeless and hopeless.

Allahu Akbar.

I was instantly reminded of many righteous people would turn to prayer when they were surrounded by difficulties and hardship. I remembered how I used depend on Allah for everything and pray so hard until my strength, will, and resolution returned to me.

I was being called to prayer.

Without hesitation, I dropped everything, performed wudhu, wore my abaya, laid my prayer mat, offered my intentions, and performed salaat. I bowed down in prostration with tears and experienced great relief. I felt Allah`s mercy, forgiveness, and immense love.

“Oh Allah, You are my Lord, there is none worthy of worship but You. You created me and I am your slave. I keep Your covenant, and my pledge to You so far as I am able. I seek refuge in You from the evil of what I have done. I admit to Your blessings upon me, and I admit to my misdeeds. Forgive me, for there is none who may forgive sins but You”. (Bukhari, Volume 8, Book 75, Number 318)

This entry was posted in Life in Islam and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Called to prayer

  1. Ash. says:

    May Allah grant you the steadfastness in worship that you desire and bless you abundantly with the blessed gifts of sabr and shukr ameen.

  2. Murat Karaagac says:

    I stumbled upon this as a person that left islam, lost hope, lost myself , lost my deen. I sinned allot. Found myself wanting more of this world that could not offer me anything

    You are very inspiring and a good person. MashaAllah may allah bring you happiness. Amien

Leave a Reply

